PHP SESSION issue

software development

Greetings

I wonder if someone can help me with a pointer to information on code samples for SESSION that will work on Dreamhost. I’m not a PHP coder but our technical developer is striking some trouble and I have seen that others have occasionally had issues due to the nature of the PHP implementation in the DH shared hosting environment. The message from them is below and if anyone had any clues I’d greatly appreciate it!

Regards

Danny

We are having query about the SESSION.
Our coding for session is not working.

We have check your server details
http://digitalreview.dreamhosters.com/phpinfo.php

Please ask your hosting provider to send me sample code for how to session will work on this server.

Our coding is working fine on http://www.zeeuk.com

http://www.zeeuk.com/phpinfo.php

Danny,

Without seeing your technical developer’s code, I could only guess why he/she might be having trouble, and php.net is the authoritative guide on “sample code for how to session will work” on any server.

Between the phpinfo() output your developer has, and the php.net manual, there are no special “tricks” to getting session code to work on DreamHost.

There are some significant differences between the two environments in which your developer is working, and his/her code needs to take this into consideration:

1. DreamHost is running PHP-CGI, while the other server is running mod_php

2. DreamHost is running PHP 5.2.3, while the other server is running PHP 4.4.4

3. Dreamhost is running with register_globals disabled, while the other server is running with them enabled.

4. DreamHost has allow_call_time_pass_reference off, while the other has it on (same for allow-url-fopen)

… and probably others. Your developer needs to take these issues under consideration with his code (though not all of these differences are relevant to sessions handling).