PHP,MySQL, and Google Maps

software development

I’ve been playing around with the Google Map API, but when I started playing around with retrieving points to map from a MySQL database, I guess I’m in over my head. For one thing, the Google Maps tutorial, http://www.map-server.com/googlemaps/tutorial.html uses PHP, and I’ve never done a project in PHP. The tutorial uses mysql_connect, while my PHP text “PHP and MySQL Web Development” uses the improved call mysqli_connect, available with PHP 5. Does DH’s PHP 4.3.10 offer the improved calls?

I’m not getting any DB connect errors but I’m also getting no map. (See http://ykfp.org/googlemaps/dbmap1.htm) What are some good tricks in PHP to see if the connection is made and the arrays contain the correct stuff?

My code currently looks like this:

Yakama Fisheries Facilities in the Yakima Basin

Yakama Fisheries Facilities in the Yakima Basin

I think this answers my question about the availability of mysqli_ procedures on DH. I had Dreamweaver MX 2004 generate some PHP code that was able to retrieve records from my MySQL table and write it to an HTML table. I hacked the code slightly to replace mysql_connect with mysqli_connect. This fails with a “Fatal error: Call to undefined function: mysqli_connect() in /home/.edison/ykfpdata/ykfp.org/googlemaps/table2i.php on line 9”. Therefore it appears the mysqli_ procedures are not available on DH. Also, Dreamweaver fails to color the “i” procedures blue in its code window, so it doesn’t look like mysqli is support there either.

My non working test code: