PHP mail issue (Please Help)

software development

I am a designer, and I have a flash portfolio site with a contact section on it. It uses a simple button to post:

on (release) {
form.loadVariables(“email.php”, “POST”);
}
(the variables within the “form” element are name, email, and message)

The script in the php page is as follows:

<?php $sendTo = "me@email.com"; $subject = "Comment from my flash site"; $headers = "From: " . $_POST["firstName"] ." ". $_POST["lastname"] . "<" . $_POST["email"] .">\r\n"; $headers .= "Reply-To: " . $_POST["email"] . "\r\n"; $headers .= "Return-path: " . $_POST["email"]; $message = $_POST["message"]; mail($sendTo, $subject, $message, $headers); ?>

This script works, or it did on my old servers. I just switched to Dreamhost. I still get an email in my inbox, from PHPMailer@coke.dreamhost.com to me but the subject, message, and reply-to are all blank. Am I missing something or does the code have errors?

Did you try printing (echoing) those variables to the screen ( as a debugging step executed before the send email routine) to make sure the variable are properly populated?

–rlparker

no. my PHP experience is small at the time. What would I need to do to accomplish this?

One thing I see right off the bat is don’t place a period in between double quotes. php will assume you are trying to merge strings together. If you want a literal period you need to use single quotes.
so your sento string would be:
$sendTo = ‘me@email.com’;
to view this string it would be
print $sendTo;
or better yet use:
print '$sendTo= ’ . $sendTo;
See how the period merged the two strings together.
Anything between single quotes is taken literally and anything between double quotes will get processed.
Hope this helps,
Silk

My website

Instead of print you can also use echo.
Silk

My website