PHP Inserts

I am moving a site to DH which uses PHP inserts to provide newsfeeds. I don’t like using JS as it is slow and the pages can’t be indexed by Google etc. Dreamhost do not allow PHP inserts and FeedDigest recommend using cURL (as did DH, as far as I knew). However DH now suggest installing PHP on my directory and using
fopen.

[i]"Well… you could use fopen: All f_open functions on the server have been disabled for security
reasons.

If you would like to use them, you may compile your own version of PHP.
Information is in the wiki for PHP4, and PHP5 respectively at the
following addresses:
http://wiki.dreamhost.com/index.php/Installing_PHP4
http://wiki.dreamhost.com/index.php/Installing_PHP5
Or write something in perl. As far as curl, I wouldn’t use shell
commands from a website, it’s like an exploit waiting to happen."[/i]

I would really appreciate a simple explanation of how I can get my feeds to work on DH without going back to JS. While I’m nboe a complete noobie I am an old geezer more comfortable with steam driven technology, so go easy please!

I don’t understand what you mean by “PHP inserts”, but if you can show me an example of the code you are having problems with, I might be able to help.

Anything that requires the retrieval of resources from external sites is best done with cURL.

Simon Jessey | Keystone Websites
Save $97 on yearly plans with promo code [color=#CC0000]SCJESSEY97[/color]

MikeP,

Did I understand correctly that someone from Dreamhost provided that information? While I do not work for Dreamhost (I’m just a customer like you), that seems to me to be “questionable” advice and information. If Dreamhost has, in fact, disabled “all f_open functions”, they have done it very recently, and without an announcement of any kind. In fact, I just don’t believe it is true (scripts would be “breaking” all over the place, and we would be seeing the fallout of it on this forum).