Php.ini upload limit

software development

Hello,

I am using SlideShowPro Director on a client’s website, but the problem is that I can’t upload videos more than 7mb. The help topic said to contact the host, or edit the php.ini file. Well Dreamhost doesn’t support custom php and I have no idea where php.ini is. They directed me to the wiki pages for setting up the PHP installation, but it is too advanced for me to understand. I am a designer, not a developer (I am learning though).

I’ll send anyone $20 via paypal if they simply help me setup this PHP thing and modify the php.ini so that I can upload files more than 7mb PLEEEAAASE!! It looks so easy but I don’t know how to go on about doing it.

-Thanks

Actually if you go to the wiki and follow the instruction for creating a cgi-bin and making your own php.ini via php.cgi it works just fine and then you can edit your php.ini file.

Where’s my $20?? ;=}

Ok, so I am looking at this wiki http://wiki.dreamhost.com/PHP.ini , and I have created a cgi-bin, and put in a php file with this code:

#!/bin/sh
CGIFILE="$HOME/[your website directory]/cgi-bin/php.cgi"
INIFILE="$HOME/[your website directory]/cgi-bin/php.ini"
rsync -a /dh/cgi-system/php5.cgi “$CGIFILE”

REMOVE THE FOLLOWING LINE TO CREATE THE UPDATE-ONLY SCRIPT:

cp /etc/php5/cgi/php.ini “$INIFILE”

perl -p -i -e ‘
s/.post_max_size./post_max_size = 100M/;
s/.upload_max_filesize./upload_max_filesize = 100M/;
’ “$INIFILE”

and the next step is where I get lost. I am not sure how to prepare the script for execution by sending command (chmod +x php-copy.sh) into the shell. Do I do this through an FTP program?

You are all in a twist! ;=}The instructions you were trying to follow were intended to allow you to create a set of shell scripts that would make it easier to manage your custom php.ini.
You indicate you created a php file (??) but included the shall script - note how it starts with #!/bin/sh - and then put that in cgi-bin. GAAAAAA!