PHP.INI Changes

I compiled my own PHP (and I’m a newb at it too). If I make changes to PHP.INI, do I need to restart Apache? The change I make seems to have no effect.

Thanks.

Onwards,

Matt

You do not need to restart Apache. If the changes you’re making aren’t effecting your site, then I recommend to make sure you’re using Your PHP and editing the file in the right place.

Create a file with a single line: <? phpinfo(); ?> and then view it in the browser. In the top section, you will see your compile options and “Configuration File (php.ini) Path.” This configuration file path will be a Directory when it’s /not/ reading a php.ini (ie; going by defaults). When you have your php.ini file in place, it will read that.

And important note; it’s php.ini not PHP.INI. Case DOES matter in Linux.

yerba# rm -rf /etc
yerba#

[quote]I compiled my own PHP (and I’m a newb at it too). If I make changes to PHP.INI, do I need to restart Apache? The change I make seems to have no effect.

You do not need to install PHP. If the changes you’re making aren’t effecting your site, then I recommend to make sure you’re using Your PHP and editing the file in the right place.[/quote]
With all due respect, my experience differs with this.
To explain: My website designs often require that I compensate for browser compatibilities (…if only IE could somehow die in a fire…) so I need to keep my browscap.ini updated; the DH copy of this file appears to be either non-existent or ancient beyond utility. I have tried setting an appropriately-updated php.ini file with the following:browscap = /home/yourname/www.yourdomian.com/php_browscap.ini using the DH-native Apache-based PHP and it had no effect at all; worked just dandy using my own compiled version.