PHP Include Not Working

software development

I’m just learning php and trying to set up a php form. I’ve got my form working on a .php file but I want to have an html file use an include to pull the form from the .php file. For some reason I can’t get my include to do anything. (It’s probably a glaringly obvious mistake.)

When I load the below html page it does not include the form from the include, just the header text, everything else is blank.

visit the page to see what I mean - www.sacloaves.org/phptest/DHform.html
and check out the php here -
www.sacloaves.org/phptest/DHform.php

Any Help please?

Here’s my code (it’s very short):

The HTML page:

<?php include 'DHform.php'; ?>

Testform.html

The DHform.php Code:

Name:

<?php include('DHform.php'); ?>

Testform.html

You need parentheses to call functions. Also make sure that the include script is in the same directory as the script that is trying to include it (since you don’t specify a path).

In addition to what OSHA correctly points out, Apache on Dreamhost is not set to parse PHP code in .html files by default. If you want it to do so, you can create an .htaccess file and include the appropriate handler, like so:

AddHandler php-cgi .html .htm .php

–rlparker

You can’t do this.* HTML files are just HTML files, they’re not scripts or anything, and they will not run PHP code. If you want something to process the include, then you need to put it into a PHP file.

Try renaming your files something like:
DHform.html -> DHform.php
DHform.php -> DHform.inc.php
and then make the necessary changes to your include statement to match the new filenames.

• Well, you can, if you map .html to be run by the PHP handler. But there’s no real reason to do this.

Technically, include is a built-in, not a function. It’ll run without parentheses just fine.

I agree completely - your answer was "mo’ bettah’ than mine. :wink:

–rlparker