Php Include not working

First off thanks for reading this. I am very new to using php so my question may sound like a “Duh” to the ones that know php. Any help you can provide is greatly appreciated.

I want to start using php to simplify my web design for headers and such. I would rather change 1 file instead of 100.

The php file I want to use is in the main directory along with all the other html files using it.

I have tried using the following:

<?php include("skyscraper.php"); ?> - didn't work <?php include("http://(domain)/header.php"); ?> - didn't work

I also tried the above with single quotes instead of double. - didn’t work

I have also tried:

<?php include($_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT']."skyscraper.php"); ?> - didn't work

I did see something about using /home/name/domain/file.php but was not exactly sure how to employ it. Would “home” be the dreamhost server? Is name my account name?

There is probably something very simple that I am missing. When I setup my host I use the default settings. I have not changed anything in my folder permissions, or .htaccess file. I am not trying anything fancy, but just want to use php to call images and possibly some scripts. Right now I am just testing things trying to get them to work.

Thanks

JMiller

The problem isn’t in your technique, but in your files. By default, files with a .html extension aren’t checked for anything that needs to be processed by another scripting engine, IE: PHP. Instead, they’re just served as is with the Apache webserver. The easiest thing for you to do here, unless you want to start messing with .htaccess files, is to just rename your HTML files to PHP ones and you’re good.

Yes, I have an opinion.

Get a minimum 50% off with the “haveadreamyday” promo code, and… have a dreamy day. Original, no?

What will work depends on where your file is that you want to include.