PHP Email Error

HI … I’m new at PHP, and did some research to find this script. However, when I try to run it, I get the following error:
syntax error, unexpected T_STRING in /home/.patch/myusername/mydomain/my.php on line 2.

Here’s the script:

<?php $to = "tlsarna@wyan.org"; $subject = "Reminder Message - SC3Arts Production Arts Team Service This Weekend!"; $body = "REMINDER: You are scheduled to serve on the Production Arts team this weekend! If you are unavailable to serve, please contact a replacement or send an email to cfoust@southpointccc.org.\nTo check this week's schedule, login here: http://www.sc3arts.com/pages/pa/thiswk.shtml. If you are unable to login, please contact Toni Lynn Sarna at webmistress@sc3arts.com with your desired password, so that she can set you up with access.\n\nThanks for your service, and God bless!"; mail($to, $subject, $body) ?>

Try escaping the @ characters the email addresses:

I tried that, as well as trying adding a semicolon to the end of the mail() line - neither worked. Same error.

This is a wild guess, but how do you edit and upload your scripts? With text files and FTP it usually works better if you do an ASCII upload so that end of line characters get translated properly. A lot of servers are UNIX or Linux and requires a line feed character for end of line. Your server may be seeing the script as one long line.

I built this in Wordpad, and just saved it as a PHP file - I also thought this might be the problem. Can you tell me what steps I would take to make the server recognize it?

I think it was a problem with the PHP 5 install. My blog and activecollab installs weren’t working for a few minutes but they are now. Try 'em again ; )