Personal proxy - Possible?

Would it be possible to set up the DreamHost account to be a personal proxy? By that I mean I would be able to enter my DreamHosted domain as the proxy server in a browser and then be able to browse to US-based sites (like Pandora) hassle-free.

If such a thing is possible, would it be difficult to set up? I have limited HTML/UNIX knowledge.

I think it depends on how much you’re going to use it.

The Dreamhost Terms of Service state:

Note that they call out proxy scripts as frequent offenders for using too much CPU.

OTOH, some people have reported success in using proxy scripts for occasional personal use.

Do a search for the term proxy using the search feature of the board. Use “forever” as the time limit and search on “All Forums”. You’ll find a gold mine of information on the subject.

This thread seems particularly useful.

Use promo code [color=#CC0000]50DISK50[/color] for 50% extra disk and $50 off
More Dreamhost coupons

Seems it is against DH TOS. Why don’t you contact DH support?

$50 off and 3 free domains with code: [color=#CC0000]DH3[/color] Sign Up NOW or More Codes Here

I don’t think it’s strictly against the ToS. It’s only because of the fact that public proxies tend to impact the server. A personal proxy that isn’t heavily used would probably be ok, but you’d have to know what you were doing.

More Dreamhost coupons

Yes, that is what I am trying to say. If you are going to consume too much resources and affect your neighbors, DH will come in. Probably we should not encourage others to do so.

$50 off and 3 free domains with code: [color=#CC0000]DH3[/color] Sign Up NOW or More Codes Here

But it is against the ToS because it’s listening for an inbound connection. And since it’s a persistent process, it’s likely to be automatically killed by a bot.

-Scott

There are “proxies” that run as CGI scripts so they’re just scripts that run under Apache.