Perl

Question: I’m trying to get perl working with the standard “Hello World” script on Dreamhost but I’m new to the language and using CGI. The code I got off www.perldoc.com/ is below:

#!/usr/bin/env perl
print “Hello, world”;

The documents tell me that Perl is a interperted language so I Know I don’t need to compile it. From the Dream host KB I found I don’t need the script in a specific directory. I used the extension “.pl”. Is my first line is wrong? Since its off a different website, its probably just a standard file location or maybe I’m not using the right code to tell apache it’s a perl script. If someone could me out I would be greatful…til then I’ll be searching the web! :slight_smile:

Hi.

I tested the code by telnet. The code still worked for me though as Bob points out the standard is #!/usr/bin/perl
See https://panel.dreamhost.com/kbase/index.cgi?area=347

As Bob surmised, I’d say you were trying to get the output to go to a browser and Bob pointed out the commands to do that and the need to turn the script execution on. (chmod)

You might also add an \n after world, but before the closing quote mark. This will add a carriage return after the text. (Though since you’re using a browser now to output the text, you need to add the line:

print “br”;
(with < before the b and > after the r (the html code for carriage return.) for the browser to submit a carriage return.)

(Sorry to say that so goofy. The message board took my br as a command and inserted a carriage return.)

Keep asking questions. This is a good place to do so.

Jim

Thanks for the help guys. People have been so helpful in these forums. I do have one other question. To change the script permissions how do I run the chmod? Does everyone have access to the linux command line to do this? I guess I’m not sure how to get to a linux prompt.

Brian

Hi Brian.