Perl and cgi help

software development

I am new to this stuff and I am trying to count the number of downloads each of the games on my site gets. When someone clicks “download” they are sent to a .pl file that is supposed to open a data file, add 1 to the overal number of downloads, close the file, and then redirect them to the .zip file location.

Here is the code:

#!/usr/bin/perl

open(INF,“flash_info.dat”) or dienice(“Couldn’t wright data to file. $!”);

@flashinfo = ;

close(INF);

$ENV{‘QUERY_STRING’} =~ tr/ / /;
$cat = $ENV{‘QUERY_STRING’};

foreach $i (@flashinfo) {
chomp($i);
($fname,$user,$plays,$dloads,$type,$location,$wi,$hi,$dload,$zip) = split(/|/,$i);
if ($fname eq $cat) {
$stuff = $i;
}
}

foreach $i ($stuff) {
chomp($i);
($fname,$user,$plays,$dloads,$type,$location,$wi,$hi,$dload,$zip) = split(/|/,$i);
}

open(INF,">flash_info.dat") or dienice(“Couldn’t wright data to file. $!”);
flock(INF,2);
seek(INF,0,0);
$dloads_add = $dloads + 1;
foreach $i (@flashinfo) {
chomp($i);
if ($i eq $stuff) {
print INF “$fname|$user|$plays|$dloads_add|$type|$location|$wi|$hi|$dload|$zip\n”;
} else {
print INF “$i\n”;
}
}

close(INF);

print “Location:$zip\n\n”;

Every time I upload it ther is a Internal Server Error and The script won’t run. I am sure I am missing something very obvious.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Brad Campbell
woochoochinchilla.com

Does anything appear in your site’s error log when the script runs?

Some obvious possibilities:

1. Have you uploaded the script with Unix line endings?

2. Are the permissions set correctly? See http://wiki.dreamhost.com/index.php/Perl#Why_Perl_CGIs_can_fail_mysteriously

3. I can’t see dienice defined in your script. To see if that’s the problem, change dienice to die. (By the way, if the script can’t write to the file for some reason then it’ll just die and the user won’t be able to download your games. Is that the required behaviour?)

Cheers,
Ian