Periodic slowdown fixed by Apache reset...but it keeps hapening

This is in response to the following thread, but more general then just perl scripts.

I am new to Dreamhost, and after setting up several domains on my account, I would notice unbearably slow response times for any script to run, cgi, PHP or otherwise. This was mainly affecting Joomla and Wordpress sites. Even some freshly installed sites with nothing more then a few add-ons and a custom theme. I would contact support, they would see some processes hung in Apache, reset the instance, then everything would be great for a few days until I began to experience the issues again.

Most recently support was pointing to my sites as the culprit, but none of them are actually getting any real world exposure or traffic and I am at a loss as to how a site that has hummed along without any issues on another hosting provider has now all of a sudden begun to have performance issues.

I am very curious if anyone else has experienced this issue?

It could be bad plugins/themes/add-ons. They can get annoying really fast.

For WordPress, there’s a (heh) plugin that can help you find the bad plugins: http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/p3-profiler/

[quote=“Ipstenu-DH, post:2, topic:58840”]
It could be bad plugins/themes/add-ons. They can get annoying really fast.[/quote]

It’s not a plugin issue. A simple <?php echo 'hello'; ?> script runs slow. It has nothing to do with Wordpress.

Maybe, maybe not. If one person in a room is really loud, the whole room is loud :slight_smile: If you have something on WP (or any other app on your domain) that’s running hot, it will impact everyone.

There’s also the possibility you have a bad neighbor (ie. someone else on your server is being noisy). You can ask to be moved to another host, if you want, but I always like to make sure I’m not the bad guy, first. (I was, more than once.)

I see your point. :slight_smile: