PEAR Problem

software development

Hi,

I’m a complete and utter noob to PEAR but I decided to learn it so I can seperate the presentation of my websites from the PHP coding.

I purchased the book Web Database Applications with PHP and MYSQL which disucces the use of PHP and PEAR in some depth with a sample project at the end.

Now this sample project can be downloaded from www.webdatabasebook.com and installed/upload to follow the code etc.

However I have received a series of PEAR errors which I have no idea how to solve. I have searched around the internet for a solution and haven’t really understood any or not found one.

Errors I’m receiving vary from

Non-static method DB::connect() should not be called statically

to

Non-static method DB::parseDSN() should not be called statically

to

var: Deprecated. Please use the public/private/protected modifiers

Has anyone else bought this book and had these problems or know how to solve them I’m really stuck with no idea how to fix it.

Please help!

Firstly, are you running your website under PHP4 or PHP5? You can check from 'Manage Domains [edit]'
The location for the PEAR packages are in different locations for the two PHPae.

If you switch to PHP4 using ‘Manage Domains [edit]’ you should get the application to use db.php okay but you may run into another PEAR problem because the PEAR templates module is not loaded.

See the wiki entry for PEAR to see how to set up your own local PEAR additional modules. You will find it best to use SSH to install the modules required such as

pear install -o HTML_Template_IT

(when you run the winestore application you may see error messages referring to any missing PEAR modules which are installed as above )