Password protecting directories

Hi.

Newbie here looking for some advice.

I know I could do this with my previous hosting company using CPanel, so there must be a way with the DH Panel! :slight_smile:

For example I always used to store certain documents under the URL http://www.mydomain.com/secure (where the “secure” directory would require a password to access the files). There’d only really be one password / login which I’d give to selected people to view family snaps etc…

How do I password protect directories under the DH panel?

Thanks!

S

Learning… very slowly… but it’s fun!

https://panel.dreamhost.com/index.cgi?tree=goodies.webdav& should be what you are looking for. Good Luck! :wink:

–rlparker

Hi.

thanks - that looks exactly like what I want to do. Just have some Q’s.

But what does the tickbox enabling “Webdav” mean?

I created a directory and secured it with two passwords, but the panel said I would “no longer own it, and cannot FTP into it, except via Webdav”. How do I upload files into this directory then?

Thanks!

Simon (loving DH!)

WebDAV stands for “Web-based Distributed Authoring and Versioning” and is not something you are likely to want to use for the purposes you described in your original post.

The warning about WebDAV is only relevant if you select the WebDAV checkbox (which you should not do unless you intend to use WebDAV and are willing to live with it’s characteristics, which include you not owning the directory and the inability to use traditional ftp with it).

If you have already selected the WebDAV checkbox, just go back to the screen and “uncheck” it; for what you want to do only .htaccess protection is desired.

–rlparker

hi.

thanks. I did not check the box, I didn’t know what it meant! :slight_smile:

So therefore I can still FTP into the directory as usual?
… and it’s simply password protected from the outside world?

If so… thanks a million. Thats just what I want! :slight_smile:

Regards,

S