Parsing rss feeds using PHP

software development

I am a PHP newbie and want to learn how to parse rss feeds into my website. I would use Javascript, but I understand php is much better for SEO.

My blog’s rss feeds are ready to go, but I have no php experience. I am not ever sure how to set php up? I do have a good understanding of HTML and know that my website is php enabled with Dreamhost.

Thank you for any help.

Ryan Martin - Windermere Real Estate

There are lots of code samples/tutorials for doing this available on the web; Google could probably provide you with an embarrassment of choices that would meet your needs. :wink:

One caveat is offered in hopes of sparing you frustration and grief: make sure that you do not use code that relies upon allow_url_fopen being enabled in your PHP installation (it is not enabled by deffault on DreamHost), look instead for solutions that use cURL.

Just one such example can be found here. :slight_smile:

–rlparker

Thank you

I think that I am getting closer to figuring it out. I will check out the link that you provided.

You are welcome! In re-reading your initial post, I realize I left out the answer to one of your questions, that might be helpful.

You don’t have to “set up” PHP at all on DreamHost, it is “ready to rock” on all DreamHost accounts by default. All you have to do it write you PHP code and save the file with a “.php” extension, and the DreamHost PHP will run it!

–rlparker

The link that I followed suggested that I also need to add cURL to make this work? Is this true?

Actually, it would be true, except that cURL is already installed and ready to go on DreamHost’s default PHP installations. :wink:

–rlparker

Alright, I REALLY appreciate all of your help on this and I am almost there.

I need to know what to do with the cURL information? Do I paste this in notepad and title the extension .php? If so what do I name the .php file?