Page refreshes abysmal - 1st time working with Dreamhost

wordpress

Hi -

I’m sure I’m not the first person to ask about page refresh times with a new Wordpress install site. I am running on a shared server with Dreamhost and this is my first time working with this host.

Page refresh times on a newly installed WP site at gourmetagain.com/trsdev are just atrocious. I am using the GeneratePress Premium theme with standard WooCommerce storefront.

I am used to working with GoDaddy shared hosts with this type of configuration, and the sites just load faster, perform better, etc.

What do I need to know to get this site working up to speed? It is taking me hours to get done what I do in an hour with GoDaddy.

Thank you in advance.

Craig

thanks for sharing the url of your site. I gave a look at it and it doesn’t seem to be too slow… although I wouldn’t call it snappy either. To get a more objective measure I checked with gtmetrix and the pagespeed score is A.

https://gtmetrix.com/reports/www.gourmetagain.com/lnvZAaN9

When did you notice these issues? I checked https://www.dreamhoststatus.com/ to see if there were outages but none is there… Do you still see this issue? Maybe do a treceroute to see if there are networking issues between you and DreamHost servers? Consider opening a support ticket so this matter can be investigated properly: an empty wordpress site should not be atrociously slow.