Noob Questions: Getting Started With DreamCompute

I just started a DreamCompute and I’m a noob with this. Right now I’m just trying to learn, figure out the volumes, instances, login, set up a test server, do things, etc.

Question 1:
So far, I got 1 instance running, it is called “Home”. It says 80GB disk, but my dashboard Volume Storage pie chart says 10GB of 100GB used.

I have 1 image, which I set to 10GB. It says “Attached to Home on /dev/vda”. This has Ubuntu 16.04 on it. Is this image simply like a space for the OS to run? It says that Ubuntu 16.04 is 2.20GB in size. Should I start over and make an image of 2.20 GB in space (to save space)? Is 10GB overkill or does the OS grow over time? What is the recommended disk space I should use for Ubuntu 16.04 image?

Question 2:
When I first created the “Home” instance, DreamCompute asked me to create the SSH keys and asked me to download the key.pem private key file (it would not be available again). I saved it on my computer, used PuttyGen on the file to create a private key.ppk file also saved on my computer. Then I followed the steps in Putty to upload this according to the DreamCompute guide:

When I click “Open”, the console appears with the words: “login as:” What do I do here? What is my username? Is it simply “ubuntu” with no password (which seems to work)? Does this access my entire “Home” instance/server, or just the Ubuntu 16.04 image?

The command console has the user prompt “ubuntu@home:~$” . Is this the root or sudo username? What do I do next? How do I get everything configured to the point where I can browse unix as root or another user, get LAMP set up, view the unix file system, etc (stuff that I’m a little more familiar with from Dreamhost VPS). Is there a good noob step-by-step guide around for this phase of the process?

Kind regards