Newbie's desperate cry for help installing script

apps

This is a plea for help installing AWstats. I have tried configure.pl from the command line. I get this message:
“Do you want to continue setup from this NON standard directory [yN]” and answer Y but it aborts after not being able to create directory /ect/awstats. Perhaps that is due to skipping the web server configuation question (which I read I could do)?

I have opened the awstats.model.conf (per Mark’s instructions in a previous post) to manually edit but I get completely lost. I have read the install instructions and get lost. I’m not a perl programmer by any means but I’ve managed to squeak by and install perl scripts before. This one has me stumped. I really don’t like Analog and use AWstats on a different host where it’s the default stats program. I’ve been spoiled by it and really would like to install AWstats for my dreamhost sites. Can anyone please help me?

Thanks,
Hope

[quote]You won’t have permission to create a directory under /etc.
[/quote]

Somehow you’ll have to tell it to go somewhere under your home area.

Yes, please. I would love to do that. Would you be able to help me with that?

Hope

[quote]Have you tried all the instructions?

[/quote]

Yes, as I said in my initial post, I’m not a programmer and I end up getting confused. The installation instructions are for someone who understands much more than I do.

[quote]* Step 0-2:
[/quote]

Once a config file has been automatically created (by awstats_configure.pl, by your package installer or just by a manual copy of awstats.model.conf), it’s important to edit it manually and change the “MAIN PARAMETERS” to match all your needs

Yes…but if I only knew how and/or what to change the main parameters to. And, as I said previously, the configure.pl aborts so the file is not automatically created.

[quote]This post might also be helpful.
[/quote]

Yes, that was Mark’s post I referred to in my first post.

[quote]Good luck,

[/quote]