Greetings. I am a newbie. I have been designing sites and FTP but have only had sites in which I setup domain names and hosting. Which previous had been through a different company. I just picked up a site that is registered through that other company, but the servers point to DreamHost. How do I take over maintenance and updates of these sites here on DreamHost? I am way out of my knowledge base.

I appreciate any help or guidance.

Did your site purchase include transfer of a DreamHost hosting account?

If so, you should have been given Admin Panel log-in details which will allow you to administer the account. Panel log-ins consist of either a WEBID/Password combination or an Email Address/Password combination.

At the very least, you should have been given FTP username/password for the domain.

Mark

Save [color=#CC0000]$50[/color] on DreamHost hosting using promo code [color=#CC0000]SAVEMONEY[/color] ( Click for promo code details )

There wasn’t an actual purchase, just hired on as the new designer to replace the old. I was given a FTP username/password for the domain which allows me to upload. However, the owner wants to have all the passwords changed and the former designer did not provide the Panel log-ins & password. Tried the owner’s email addy and that did not work either :frowning:

First of all, Welcome! I think the first thing you need to do is arrange to gain access to the account on Dreamhost. You did not say if another developer was managing the site, or if your client was managing it. Either way, you should arrange to either obtain the appropriate username/password for the Dreamhost account (or at least the ftp user) so that you can ensure the continued integrity of the existing files. Depending on the circumstances of your situation, you may be able to have the existing file/code delivered to you by the owner or developer. Exactly how you should proceed with this depends entirely on “who controls what” regarding the existing site.