Newbie with a couple questions

Hello everyone,

I have had some experience with other hosting companies maintaining a Wordpress site and several HTML sites that I built. Now I have started a DreamHost account, and wish to maintain a couple of sites that I will build in Joomla.

I am not sure where to begin, so I wanted to post here and hopefully get some direction.

Q1) I didn’t get my free domain name at the time I signed up. Where do I go to select that now?

Q2) Once that is selected, it seems that I will need to attach my Joomla install to a domain. Will it then work with other added domains, or is it a separate install for every domain you host?

Q3) Is there a post here that has a walk-through or pointers for the Joomla install? I don’t get the option for a Simple Install - only the Custom Install, and that freaks me out a bit.

Q4) Where can I find a post that gives me more info on how to add and setup other domains?

Q5) Can I put up one of the websites as an HTML site and then rebuild it later in Joomla?

Thank you all in advance for your help. I am very unsure of myself as I proceed, so any help/direction is greatly appreciated!

1. you get a 9.95 credit that you can use to either transfer your domain registration to dh or just register a brand new domain. just go to domains=>registrations or reg.transfer. you do not have to change registrars if you do not want to but those two things are how you would take advantage of the ‘free’ registration. if you already have your domain and do not want to transfer from your current registrar you will need to update your nameservers at your other host to point to dh servers,

2. i am sure there is probably a better article in the wiki but this is relevant as it should be the same process as far as moving from another webhost (instead of your own local copy)