Newbie /site probs

Hello all,

Good to be here.

Now, I know a lot of this is going to sound foolish but I’m new to this sort of stuff. Apologies.

First thing: I’ve uploaded my files I’m just getting the html folder page rather than going direct to the index.html page.

I’m getting this:

Index of /

Name Last modified Size Description

html/ 23-Sep-2007 03:16 -

Obviously, I’ve neglected something - something very simple I’ll bet.

Secondly, I made a lot of these pages in FrontPage which I know is evil. So, I’ll stop that. I have Dreamweaver and and an FTP program. At the moment the pages are not reproducing properly. I guess this is due to the FrontPage extensions not being activated. And I was warned against this. So, the upshot is, I should make my pages again in dreamweaver and start over right?

I’m trying to set up a charity site for terminally ill kids and to a deadline so It’s real important I sort all this out quickly.

Thanks very much for your help in advance,

T.

It seems to have put everything in a folder named “html”. You just need to somehow get the files to upload to the web root folder, I think.

Free unique IP and $67 off with code [color=#CC0000]LMIP67[/color] or use [color=#CC0000]LM97[/color] for $97 off. Click for more promo code discounts

Hey Lensman,

Thanks for your response. Yes, that seems logical. I’ll sort that out and see what happens.

Cheers,

T.

Ok, well… I now still get the INDEX OF page (Name/ Last modified/ Size Description/ Etc.) but no folders and no home page.

How do I get the index.html to appear as the home page? can’t think what I’m not doing wrong.

Thanks in advance.

T.

[quote]Ok, well… I now still get the INDEX OF page (Name/ Last modified/ Size Description/ Etc.) but no folders and no home page.

How do I get the index.html to appear as the home page? can’t think what I’m not doing wrong. [/quote]