Newbie Questions

I apologize in advance for the undoubtedly rookie like questions but I’m apparently blind and missing something obvious.

I recently purchased a domain and hosting from DH. I am fairly new to the building site of websites and mainly have done content creation and forum management for websites in the past so the actual installation and file management processes are new to me.

I purchased my domain and did the easy one click install for WordPress. It is now hosted at blog.mydomain.com. I changed my theme to Fluidityrs and created some various pages. I now need to edit the front page of this theme as it has tabs/links to various pages like ‘about’, ‘contact us’, and others. I can’t seem to do this from the control panel. Is there a way to edit this page from the control panel? I’m using WP 3.0.0.

Next, I had some issues connecting with FTP but finally got that figured out. However, when I connect I can’t seem to find a directory for wordpress either in the root or in the mydomain directories. Am I missing something blatantly obvious here? I’m assuming this is where I need to go to edit the front page of the blog.

Thanks in advance for your help and again, sorry for the dumb questions.

If the theme itself doesn’t have options to set these tabs, you’re out of luck.

It’s because the Easy one-click won’t let you modify the files for your site (except for CSS). They’re on a centralized web server that users don’t have FTP access to. Delete the Easy version and re-install the Advanced One-Click. But first, set up a Fully Hosted Domain under Manage Domains. This will create the FTP directory the Advanced One-Click needs for installing WordPress.

And they’re not dumb questions, just an unfortunate byproduct of the Easy One-Click installations.

Thanks for the reply, that helps a lot. I’m not completely blind. :slight_smile: