Newbie question: site not applying CSS stylesheet

The files are all there, and they work when I look at them on my computer in both Firefox and IE. They’re uploaded in the proper directories. Yet, for some reason, the CSS sheet isn’t applying to the .html pages.

http://www.morningstarhall.com

I’m a total newbie to web design, and am lucky to have gotten the site this far. I don’t even know what questions to ask!

Any help would be most appreciated.

I had a quick look at your page and it appears that your css file is named Morningstar.css (note the capital ‘M’), while your page is looking for morningstar.css

Try renaming the CSS file, or changing the reference on your page and it should work OK.

Edit: It is worth remembering for the future that Linux systems, such as those used by DreamHost, use case sensitive filenames. So ‘somefile.jpg’ is considered a different file to ‘Somefile.jpg’. This can be a trap if you are developing the site on a Windows system.

Mark

Save [color=#CC0000]$50[/color] on DreamHost plans using [color=#CC0000]PRICESLASH[/color] promo code (Click for DreamHost promo code details)

Grrh. Fixed that (stupid mistake), but it still won’t apply the sheet.

Hmm.

So I see. :slight_smile:

Try adding http:// to the line in your source that refers to your CSS;

[color=#0000CC][/color]

or refer to the CSS file relatively using something like;

If the CSS is in the same directory;

[color=#0000CC]href=“morningstar.css”[/color]

If the CSS is one directory level up;

[color=#0000CC]href="…/morningstar.css"[/color]

and so on.

Mark

Save [color=#CC0000]$50[/color] on DreamHost plans using [color=#CC0000]PRICESLASH[/color] promo code (Click for DreamHost promo code details)

Oh, FFS.

THANK YOU. DUH.

God. I SAID I was a newbie. Didn’t I say?!

Jeez. A thousand humble thanks.

See, now it looks really cool!

I just have to fix every other page.

hehe, we are all newbies at some (most?) things. :slight_smile: