Newbie Needs Help With Everything

Ok, so I am brand new with Dream Host and with Wordpress. I did the instant install for Wordpress, but that’s as far as I’ve come.

I have a blog on Blogger Kakiadesigns.com I set it up in DreamHost to use that domain.

I downloaded Wordpress and it’s on my computer but I don’t see any way to execute it. I have been reading that I need an FTP to upload my files to DreamHost.

I’m so confused. I’m so used to Blogger. I’ve been reading the Wiki’s but it seems like another language.

A long time ago I used FTP’s to upload to a blog I kept back in the way back days before Blogger.

WordPress installs and runs on your Web site. If you’re not comfortable with settings for MySQL databases, usernames, passwords, etc. I’d suggest you just use the One-Click Installs in the DreamHost Panel. You don’t have to fret over FTP, etc.

In fact, I use One-Click from time to time on a site just for convenience, even though I can do it manually.

But if you wish to try it yourself, read these docs at WordPress:

http://codex.wordpress.org/Installing_WordPress

I ran that One-Click but I didn’t get anything else. Nothing. Just shows it’s installed. Aren’t I suppose to get an email or something? I don’t know how to launch WP.

That’s strange. You are supposed to receive an email about the One-Click install with a lot of information and links for more details; that’s what I get when I use it. Maybe you should file a support ticket to find out what happened. Or check your spam folder. :slight_smile:

Ok, let’s make this easy. How do I log into WP Dashboard?

So it would be: www.domain.com/wp-admin You need to use the login username and password you specified when you ran the install.

But you’d have to point the domain to the DreamHost servers for that to work. When I tried your site, it looked like existing content had already been set in your other blogging software.

If i do that address with my domain it takes me to Blogger.