Newbie Confusion

I’m having a hard time publishing some of the test pages to my url as I try and get started with my website. This is my first time trying this, so I’m sure I am making some sort of stupid newbie mistake.

The problem is with my publish settings. I am using Dreamhost as my web host, and they sent me the following settings to get started:

They also sent me my username and password.

After reading through both Dremhost and my web editor/publishers help sections … I’m still confused as to what to put in the following fields in the publish settings box:

http address

(assuming I should put

publishing address

(thought I should put - this may be my error)

Any assistance anyone could provide would be much appreciated!

what are you using to upload your files? wsftp, or a program like that, you just need to use as your hostname

If you are using another way to upload your files, post it here and someone can help.

I am using the FTP program NVU, which I downloaded from

It’s asking me for the http address of my site, to which I entered

It then asks me for a publishing address. I just tried entering … which is still not working.

Excellent, thanks for the assistance. I just made the changes with godaddy.

Any ideas how long it will take for Dreamhost to recognize so I can begin publishing?

Thanks Bob, I just went there and it still says its parked there courtesy of godaddy.

My other settings I entered look OK though? Once the transfer goes through, I should be able to publish to my website, correct?

Thanks again.

Alright, the DNS is now pointing to Dreamhost, but I still cannot publish pages. It’s still saying “publishing failed, the server is not available”.

The help section at NVU offers this up:

Error Message:

The server is not available. Check your connection and try again later.

Error Description: This error can have many causes. For example:

• Your publishing site settings may not be correct.