New user, very happy

Wanted to post my experience for those folks coming along looking for a new hosting provider…

I’m brand new to Dreamhost, a dedicated server customer. It took a little longer than I hoped to get the server up and running, but it’s up now, and it took me just short of an hour to transfer a decently sized site to my new server.

In my little time with DH, I’ve been extremely impressed. Sales has been really friendly and accommodating (thanks, Brett!!). Getting my site set up was a breeze. As a long time *nix admin, I was amazed by how nicely the system is set up. And anything I had questions about (um, where’s cgi-bin directory?) I just went to the Knowledge Base and did a search (turns out DH has set it up so you can put cgi files anywhere–what a novelty).

Thanks, DH. And to anyone reading this wondering if you should switch to Dreamhost: YES.

I’m glad that someone is happy.

I’ve been with DreamHost about 3 years, and am about to switch. Over the past 2 months they’ve been plagued with email and MySQL problems. Just the other day something went haywire with the apache configuration for my sites, downtime of over 12 hours. Total downtime for services over the last 2 months has exceeded 36 hours.

Support tickets? Average response time of about 12 hours. I have one at nine hours and counting at this moment. I am running about a dozen sites and have a good idea of what I’m doing, so these are not frivolous or unnecessary requests.

I’m evaluating other solutions now, learned that the cheapest is not necessarily the best, and “fanatical support” is in the opinion of the fanatic. Best of luck to you either way!

And this started off as such a happy thread too…

Well, for the record, I’m a DreamHost customer, and I plan on remaining a DreamHost customer because I am pleased with the quality of support that I have received in the past.

MacManX.com
I don’t work here. I’m just your typical support forum volunteer.