New directory

wordpress

I messed up installing wordpress so I deleted it and tried to reinstall. However, I got a message saying that the directory was not empty. I saw some files under “log” but I could not delete them as permission was denied. How do I fix this? I read some other posts and everybody said something about a .htaccess file. I don’t see this. I am not using an ftp client just windows xp under my network places. The error message said that I could also make a new directory but I am not sure how to do this either. I am totally new at this. If you can give me any help that would be greatly appreciated.

Files that begin with a period (like the .htaccess file) are not shown using XP or normal FTP sessions. There’s a specific option to “show hidden files” in most FTP programs (and in the Tools|Options dialog in XP).
I highly recommend you start using some kind of FTP tool, not just Windows XP. If you are going to be a webmaster then some basic “webmaster tools” are in order.

TorbenGB
Try out DreamHost with a free WebIDPrices, options

I went under tools and set “show hidden files,” but I don’t see anything that ends in .htaccess. There are files that say access.log with various dates after them, but nothing called .htaccess.

If those log files are still in the directory you’re trying to delete, you need to get rid of those first before you worry about whether you have .htaccess files lying around.

Are you running PHP as a CGI or under Apache? This is a checkbox option in your Domain HTTP details. I’m guessing that your problem is that you have PHP running under Apache (the non-recommended option…), so those log files belong to the Apache user instead of your user.

If you know how, you can write a short PHP script that will delete the files (don’t change the CGI option until after you’ve done this) – if you don’t know how to do this, ask support to help you out deleting those files. And before you install again, change that “run PHP as CGI” setting.