NetPBM?

software development

I am trying to install a Gallery Script on my website. It is primarily PHP.
I haven’t tinkered much with this so I am learning as I go.

It requires something called NetPBM. It says it found some of what I needed, but gave me a warning, and now
is asking me for the path.

The path to the directory containing NetPBM on your system. If you downloaded NetPBM from the Gallery download page, don’t forget to make the files executable. Eg. /usr/local/netpbm or /usr/local/bin or c:\apps\netpbm.

Does Dreamhost have NetPBM installed, it must cause it found “some” of the files. It did say some were not executible.

Any help is appreciated! Thanks

What’s this script’s name? Where can it be found?

It is called Gallery
and is located at http://www.menalto.com/projects/gallery/index.php

Actually I put the files in a directory on my site, and then pointed the script at those files, and it worked.

However I now have other problems.

Since I am extremely new to PHP, and I know that recently Dreamhost changed somethings dealing with PHP, I am wondering if the errors I am getting are from the changes, or if I have done something wrong. It is frustrating because I have a place to go for FAQ and for threads of discussion, but it takes hours and hours of reading to find out answers to small issues.

I have to get the script to recreate the errors before I can post them, so I have to go back through the set up to have it do it. If you try to install the script by some chance, let me know what you find. I am getting errors about not being able to write to files and access denied sort of stuff.

Thanks Nancy

Hi Nancy

I can take a look at it when I’m back in the office tomorrow morning for you. I don’t fancy playing around with it on my 28k back home .

In the mean time, it would be a good idea to alert Dreamhost support (use your web panel to send a message) just incase it is something to do with the PHP changes.