Need help with templates

wordpress

First, I’m making a personal/professional website with my name as its own domain, and I plan to add an online resume.

Now, I just spent almost 6 hours trying to learn how to customize a Wordpress template and I’ve gotten almost nowhere.

I’m using Wordpress because I hear it’s the easiest to use out of all the CMS apps out there. I was hoping to avoid modifying any code (there’s LOTS of it and it’s hard to navigate through the code) or messing around the PHP as I have zero experience with any of that (despite the fact that I have an IT background).

I picked the simplest template available and it still was a frustrating experience. But I managed to make a passable home page (albeit with too much white space) at least for now. I’m still not satisfied with the way it looks for a final product.

I want to put my pic to the left next to my name and tagline (all left justified). Then I want to put a pic of clouds under the home/resume menu, ideally a pic of moving clouds or a mini-slideshow of changing pictures. I want to be able to put images within the page body. Then either in a side bar or at the bottom, I want to add small link icons for my facebook, linkedin, and twitter pages. Maybe I’m missing something?

Here’s my site: http://www.nabeelkeblawi.com/

Help would be very much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Follow up post: I used Lubith (free version, limited functionality) to create a template that I more or less wanted, and it looks a little better. I still have a lot to learn about wordpress and templates. Does anyone know how to embed slideshows or animations?

Just a cursory glance, but I think your main problem is that you are trying to reposition things using CSS rather than restructuring your document.

To be very blunt (no offence meant!), the design looks very outdated. Those clouds next to your picture do no favors to the overall appearance, as you end up with two images patched together.