Need help installing AWstats

apps

I’ve heard good things about this program, and want to install it on my sites. The problem is, I have no idea what a httpd.conf file is, or where to find it. The documentation for AWstats is not entirely clear as to where to look for it.

Can I even access that file? Dreamhost KB says I only have limited access to Apache stuff, which I have very little knowledge of anyway, so that’s probably for the best.

Yeah, so I’m lost and confused. It seemed like from the documentation that all I had to do was upload the files, run a script, change some settings, and BAM, you’ve got AWstats. It didn’t happen that way.

Any help installing this would be appreciated. Currently, I have the AWstats files uploaded to my root ftp site. I can’t get any further than that.

Help?

Please?

With cherries on top?

Sorry, didn’t mean to go Anonynous. That was me in the last post.

Have you seen the Wiki Article?

-Matttail

This article was very helpful. However when I get to step # 11 and try to verify my site (awstats.mydomain.com.html where mydomain is really my domain) I get:

sh: line 1: /home/myuser/stats/awstats.pl: Permission denied (where ‘myuser’ is my username)

I went in an set permissions to that file to 775, but I have a feeling this is a different problem.

I just ran through all the steps again, and it appears that going to my new stats area (http://www.example.com/stats) is actually pulling info from the standard DH stats. It doesn’t look anything like the AWStats example on their site.

Furthermore, the walkthrough states “Now check the output folder (/statistics/) in your browser. Look at the awstats.example.com.html file.” I’ve read and re-read this and I do not see a prior reference to that html file. There’s a awstats.example.com.conf which I renamed to reflect my site, and uploaded to the /home/myusername/stats directory.

What did I miss?