Mysqldump Cron job failing because of vi

Hello. I’ve done the following via shell and it worked successfully…but when doing it through cron I get errors. Does anyone know a work around for this? Thanks

cd /home/account
rm account.dump.sql
mysqldump -uuser -ppassword -h --opt oldaccount > account.dump.sql
vi account.dump.sql -c :g/oldaccount/s//newaccount/g -c :wq!
mysqldump -uuser -ppassword -h --opt newaccount < account.dump.sql

when doing it via cron I get:
Vim: Warning: Output is not to a terminal
Vim: Warning: Input is not from a terminal
[m [m [0m [H [2J [24;1H"account.dump.sql" 1091L, 16457780C
"account.dump.sql" 1091L, 16457780C written
– MySQL dump 10.10

I’m no expert, but I think vi needs a terminal to run in and I don’t think cron runs in a terminal.

what exactly are you editing with vi?

yeah, that’s what I was thinking. the vi command above searches and replaces oldaccount with newaccount and then closes with saving. I guess the question then is “is there another way to do this” or “is there a way to pass terminal using cron”

That last command is a dump command. It looks like you’re trying to populate a database, in which case, you should be using the ‘mysql’ command instead of ‘mysqldump’.

Thanks. I just realized I was confusing myself with that. As usual, I was over complicating it.

Turns out all I need was one line:
mysqldump -uuser -ppassword -h --opt oldaccount | mysql -uuser -ppassword -h newaccount

But I also think i figured out a way to edit a file in a shell script without getting those previous errors (irrelevant now though):
sed -n -e ‘s/oldaccount/newaccount/’ account.dump.sql

Thanks for the help

Just so you know for future reference, ‘sed’ is the tool that is normally used in a *nix environment for applying regular expression substitutions in a shell script. It’s also exactly what should be used in your case.