Mysql/phpmyadmin privileges

I’m a newbie to hosting, most of the jargon around here, etc, and am having trouble with mysql/phpmyadmin, specifically with importing data for gallery.

I’ve created various mysql dbs in the control panel, and a user with all permissions for all my dbs. Problem: When I log on to phpmyadmin, I’m told I have no privileges to create a new db. When I try to import I get “#1044 - Access denied for user ‘dale’@‘208.97.128.0/255.255.192.0’ to database ‘gallery2’”. Note, gallery2 is the sql export I’m trying to import.

I’m sure I’m doing a few things wrong, but I can’t sort them out if I don’t have access to the db. Any suggestions? Maybe related to the host(s) I’ve allowed my user to access the db from, in the control panel?

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

i’m not sure. but maybe DH does not allow mysql user to create db. You can create db only in the control panel.

Save [color=#CC0000]$97[/color] (max discount) on dreamhost plans by using promo code: [color=#CC0000]97CRAZY[/color].

Sounds like the backup of the database (the dump) you did has a create database line at the top. Remove that it will work fine.

Save [color=#CC0000]$97[/color] on Dreamhost plans by using promo code: [color=#CC0000]SRVR97[/color]

Thanks for the suggestion. I tried this, but it made no difference…

As previous posters have pointed out, a machine user on DH (that’s you) doesn’t have “create” authority for MySQL databases. There are also a few other operations that you cannot complete with even “full” permission on DH’s MySQL. These limitations are true whether you attempt to access/manipulate the database via PhpMyAdmin, mysql commands from the shell command line, or via program code.