Mysql and SSH

I’m trying to activate a file (ubicomp.sql) in my home directory (this file will create a sql table). but when i type this in the SSH:

mysql -u’myUsername’ -p’myPassword’ tableName < ubicomp.sql

…this error come up:

ERROR 2002 (HY000): Can’t connect to local MySQL server through socket ‘/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock’ (2)

what am I doing wrong?

Thanks

you have to specify your host name to connect to your mysql database. Check out this kabase article it gives you an example of how to do it (in color)

-Matttail

thanks matttail,

The links is very helpful but I have a feeling I’m placing the .sql file in the wrong place, cuz it is not getting dumpped.
I’m putting it in my home directory. I don’t know where else I can put it. is it the right location for it?
sorry, i’m kinda new to the whole DB world.

thanks

I’m not very familiar with this my self, but by the error you are getting I can tell that it is complaining because it can’t connect to your database at ‘localhost’ which is the linux defult. So, like the article describes, fill out the host name (the one you created when you set up the databae in your panel) and you’ll be good to go.

If you specify your host name it should get dumped into the right place becuase you can only have one database per hostname.

If the file you are trying to dump isn’t very large you might also be able to use PHP my admin. (but there are specific files size limits that prouduce a confusing error message when you encounter it) you can connect to that by going to your host name in a browser.

-Matttail

thanks.
sorry i wasn’t clear enough. I actually did add the host name and it did connect to mysql. it gave me this long commands list or something when it connected but the tables that I specify in the text file were not created. That’s why I feel that maybe the txt file should be placed elsewhere and not in my home directory.

anyway thanks for your help.