My terrible experience with dreamhost

I’d like to share an awful experience I’ve had with Dreamhost:

I’m a web designer doing a site for a client and I decided to use Dreamhost for web hosting. In November 2006, I setup a 2-year prepaid hosting account (crazy domain insane) in preparation of an e-commerce website launch that would take place in the next few months. At that time, Dreamhost requested that my client do a pencil rub of his credit card and fax it in to prevent fraud… a little hassle but no big deal. The payment was accepted and the account was activated.

After Nov 06, design and development of the website took place and was completed toward the end of Mar 07. The site was finalized and ready to go live. Many people had been told about the launch of the new site which was to be a primary source of revenue for my client.

On March 30, 07, I went to upload the website, and to my shock the domain wasn’t active and the hosting account wasn’t working. I logged into the control panel and noticed that the account was “pending approval” and an amount of $71.40 was owed. This was odd, because the account had previously been approved and activated. I emailed support and was told that the full balance on the account had not been paid, and that a remaining balance of $71.40 was owed. What they failed to mention is that Dreamhost, when they received the credit card rub, charged the incorrect amount on the card, paying for only 1 year of hosting instead of 2. Neither of us was informed of this error, and only when the site was ready to go live was I even aware that the account was deactivated. I told my client about the problem and he agreed to pay the remaining balance.