I think that provided the registration of your domain name is not locked in the dreamhost control panel, then you can recover control of it by initiating its transfer at your account with another registrar, without needing any non-automatic help from dreamhost.
It would make sense that dreamhost automatically unlock the registrations when they disable an account, and it would be nice if anyone could confirm that this is what happens.
P.S. it occurs to me that it might also be necessary to be not using dreamhost private registration for the above to work, so that you actually receive the email relating to the transfer request. Does anyone know?