Music and video streaming

On my existing website, I just upload the wma or wmv file to the server and use microsoft’s std windowsmediaplayer for the visitors to select and listen to the media as presented.
Thus, I fail to understand if quicktime streaming supports these formats. I don’t want to have the user to dowload anything that isn’t naturally part and parcel of their equipment ie; wm player.
So I want to join Dreamhost but need clarification and kudos as to how well multimedia files are supported. I like the idea of the dedicated media server but what about making everyone dowload quicktime to view a wmv file???
Yea, I know - I’m a newbie! can u help my confusion? :>)

Uh, I do admit to not being sure of what specific questions you’re asking.

Are you looking to stream media or are you looking to post media for people to download?

Is your current host using a specialized server running a Windows Media server (and this would be a Windows Server server, not a standard linux web server running apache)? If not, you can continue to do the same thing you’re doing now and just host the wma/wmv file for progressive download.

Everyone I know installs quicktime, but I suspect that’s because I’m in the US. I dunno what it’s adoption rate is overseas.

Extra lifetime domain and $82 off with code [color=#CC0000]1DOM82[/color] or use [color=#CC0000]LM97[/color] for $97 off. Other Dreamhost coupon codes

Hi,
we are looking for space on US as video streaming website for our product VideoVista.
As I found this topic that is talking about A/V I would like to know if you keep same price in your offer.
Below a VideoVista true streaming sample
http://www.vista.it/cont.php?menu=03

thanks in advance

Bsa

To my knowledge most if not all of the plans include the streaming server.

[quote]From DreamHost Hosting Features

Quicktime Streaming