Moving files to new domain

I’m a beginner when it comes to hosting and servers but I recently sign up with dreamhost on a recommendation.

I built a site using wordpress and now that i’m done i’m have a really hard time figuring out how to publish the site? Not sure the correct terminology here. I have the registered through dreamhost and have tried following the steps here

I just don’t get how to move the folders/files from one location to another. I see them in the webFTP but it doesn’t give me the option to copy or drag and drop them to the I have also changed the url and uri in wordpress to and now I can’t view my site through wordpress or log back in to the dashboard to change it back

please please help!

The menu bar is on the top left hand corner in WebFTP. When you select a file / directory, the copy/move/delete button will be enabled and that is basically for you to move your files.

is there a way to move the whole folder? the only time menu enables the copy move etc. is when i have selected a specific file in that folder…I see that as leaving to much room for error and taking a long time
sorry! I got it! Hopefully this fixes everything

you were almost there! I just went to Manage Domains in your panel, clicked “Edit” to the right of your domain, and changed the directory name it was pointed to there in the “Fully Hosted” settings. Since you already made the URL changes in the WP settings earlier, that’s all it needed! :slight_smile:

so awesome, thank you but when I click the home page the the URL goes back to and my slides stop working. What do I need to do at this point?

The Home link in the top nav appears to be hard-coded.

Take a quick look in WP Admin > Appearance > Menus

Ok fixed the home issue, thank you! I’m still having a issue where if I search my url it shows up as “index of /” and not the title and meta desc I chose

Just wait until the search engine bots visit again and they’ll reindex your complete site data.