Moodle

apps

Anyone know how to get started on Moodle? I’ve uploaded the file to my server but I am then supposed to click on “install.php” and it doesn’t seem to have uploaded with the rest of the files.

I’m a teacher not a techie, can somebody walk me through this?

I used the zip file. I coun’t figure out how to unpack it on the server so I unpacked it on my desktop and uploaded the whole thing to the server.

that should work fine, I do things that way from time to time. Where did you upload the files to? Did you put them in your webaccessable area with your other site files, or in the main directly you get when you first log into FTP?

They should be uploaded to a web-accessable area, and you’ll probably want it in a folder of it’s own. So you might create something like ‘moodle’ (which would be placed ‘under’ your domain.com folder)

Now in your webbrowser go to www.youDomain.com/moodle/install.php
Then things should start working. :slight_smile:

-Matttail

I think I’m doing it right. The files are under my domain name but the one I need is not there.

I started poking around to see what I could find in the files that did load and found this under admin:

Parse error: parse error, unexpected $ in /home/.borscht/emegan/mrsenloe.com/moodle/admin/index.php on line 42

I was going to give you the educators non-techie install instructions :slight_smile: but see you have your moodle up and running.

Quick un-tar, un-zip shell (*nix) commands:

to untar (extract) a file type: tar xf yourfilename.tar

to unzip type: unzip yourfilename.zip

Have fun Moodling!

I have just started using Moodle on Dreamhost also. I have another Moodle installation, which I have managed for over two years now, with another hosting service, so I am pretty comfortable with the package. I am curious about any issues that you have had getting Moodle running properly on Dreamhost. Have you had any other issues that required tweaking the standard Moodle installation?
Thanks

Hi Moodle Users!