Modify PHP Upload Limit

Hi,

I want to increase the PHP upload limit for my site (www.fotobucks.com) and I have found a tutorial on wiki dreamhost (http://wiki.dreamhost.com/PHP.ini). Here I want to ask, what are the risk of modification if modification failed? Will it cost data lost?

I am new to this and it also is my first time doing it. I tried to do the modification using putty.exe. After I run the putty.exe, I keyed in ‘fotobucks.com’ at the host name field and set to port 80. When I clicked on open button, putty open a new window with black color in it. The problem is that I cannot type and do anything with that window. What should I do in order to proceed?

From what I read from the tutorial (although I am not fully understand it), here I want to ask:

1. Is it possible to do the modification by uploading all those files needed without using putty.exe?
  2. Where and how can I get the dreamhost original php.ini? So that later I can change the setting to increase the upload limit.

I will be very appreciate if you can provide detail steps by steps in the way to do the modification. Thanks.

The worst that will happen is that your site stops working. In which case you just delete those lines, or the entire file, in .htaccess.

For Putty, the port shouldn’t be 80. Leaving it blank should work, but you can also try 22 which is default for SSH. You also need to go to the panel here and Edit your User to allow for Shell access.

If you want to do everything at your end, use SFTP, not FTP. Then you can download DreamHost’s default php.ini. As long as you’re using a clean text editor that doesn’t add DOS linefeeds, you’re in good shape. Filezilla does SFTP and has a built in text editor.

-Scott

Thanks a lot for your reply. I have tried to do everything at my side and upload through SFTP. The only part that I don’t understand and skipped is “Set permissions” from http://wiki.dreamhost.com/PHP.ini

Here are my steps:

1. created a “cgi-bin” folder