Memcached

software development

Hi,
I’ve a wiki (mediawiki) and am trying to install memcached. I could not get any decent documentation on how to get it running and have my mediawiki be benefited. Can anyone tell me how to do this ? Basically I’m looking for information on linking memcached and mediawiki.

Thanks in advance for any help,
Gandharvan

I’m almost 100% positive you can’t run memcached on DreamHost, as ProcWatch (the program they have running to monitor and kill memory/CPU intensive processes) would certainly kill the memcached daemon.

If you’re trying to use memcached from other server with your mediawiki hosted on DH, then I appologize, as I have no experience with mediawiki.

I agree. I looked into it a bit for my small MediaWiki site and I think the DH wiki confirms that you can’t run memcached.

Free unique IP and $67 off with promo code [color=#CC0000]FLENSFREEIP67[/color] or use [color=#CC0000]FLENS97[/color] for $97 off. Click here for more options

Hi,

Can you tell me how to install memcache on Dreamhost VPS ?

Thanks.

I’d love to know how to do this too - my database is being killed at the moment and memcache would help to solve a lot of my problems.

Would it, though? Memcached is not magic pixie dust — applications have to be specifically written to support it. Most are not. We actually experimented with using memcached internally and concluded that adapting our code base to support it was not worthwhile.

Installing memcached on DreamHost VPS should be trivial, though. Just log in as an admin user and sudo apt-get install memcached
The default size is 64 MB. I believe you can tune that in /etc/defaults/memcached.

Make sure to change the settings to not allow network access, though — otherwise, anybody on the Internet will be able to read and modify the contents of your cache. That would be BAD.