Media Wiki - Upload Help Required

apps

One of our webmasters has tried and failed to setup MediaWiki to allow image uploads, however he failed with the error “The upload directory (http://www.sixth-fleet.com/lcars-main/zeta-images/) is not writable by the webserver.”

I checked and he set the directory to 777 (which I thought was a little too unsecure)

However I have no experience of MediaWiki, could anyone give me some advice on what the cause may be and how to correct it?

Thanks,
Dan.

Has he tried setting it to 755 (DH uses suexec)?

–rlparker

Yeah, same problem… I’ve looked at the code and the overly complicated MediaWiki website and I can’t figure out why it is the script can’t, or doesn’t think it has permissions to upload to the set directory.

THe only other thing that I can suggest is that you double-check the LocalSettings.php file for accurate path information in the $wgUploadDirectory setting.

While the error message implies a permissions problem, it also could be that mediawiki cannot write to the directory if the path is improperly specified (it can’t find that directory to write to it).

If you want to post that section of your LocalSettings.php file here, I’d be happy to look at it later tonight. :wink:

–rlparker

Hi, sorry it took a while to get back to you on this, I got side-tracked… either way there are several references to image uploads in the localsettings.php an didn’t want to over-crowd this post, so I copied it to:

http://www.sixth-fleet.com/lcars-html/departments/database/memory-zeta/LocalSettings.phps

First of all, as the directory structure of your installation is not readily apparent to me, I won’t attempt to tell you exactly what values you should be using for some of your configuration setting variables - you should carefully review your DefaultSettings.php and your LocalSettings.php files for correct paths and urls for your installation.