"master" user?

Hi Guys,

I’m brand new to dreamhost, and it seems great so far. The wiki has helped me sort out most of what I was unsure over, but I’m now stuck.

I have what I think of as my “master” user, the one that signed up for the dreamhost account, and has my primary domain on it, and then I have another user associated with an added domain.

I’ve enabled shell access for my master user, and when I log in to the server (willie) I can see the two folders in /home (and everyone elses) and I can get into and LS files in the two folders - BUT - I can’t for example mkdir in the addon domain, only in my primary folder. Is there a way to make my “master” user able to do things like mkdir and gunzip things in the addon domain? or do I need to enable shell on my addon user? (I tried chown but that seemed to be forbiddne)

sorry for the wordy explanation, hope it makes my quesiton clear.

Thanks in advance for any help.

DN.

[later on, after additional scrutiny]

Aha, it seems I could have added the second domain under the same user as the primary domain… which would work. Except that I would like to create an FTP user that only has access to /home/primaryuser/secondary_site and not /home/primaryuser/primary_site and from the looks of “add user” they just get /home/username… and no real mention of permissions… So I’m still stuck.

(and presumably missing something significant)

It sounds as if you are “almost there” with what you want to do. You might want to review this Dreamhost Wiki Article on Users, paying special attention to the section entitled " How do I share website access with another FTP user?". This describe the “simple way” to share a website, or websites, but has the important restriction that you need to log-in as the “sub” or “other” user in order to manipulate their files or directories.