Many questions about DreamCompute

dreamcompute

I’m completely new to this ‘cloud computing’ lark and I’m wondering if DreamCompute is exactly what I need…

I currently run a website on a DH Shared host. (Well a couple of websites) - The actual web hosting is fine on there, however one of my websites runs a lot of cron jobs continuously, and sometimes I obviously hit some kind of resource limit (I guess memory) and my crons end up getting killed off for a short period. I’m planning an upgrade to this website soon to a new codebase built on Laravel, which I is slightly more resource hungry than my old framework, so unless I do something then I figure I can’t run as many crons, and I really need to if anything run more…

So I’m thinking the cheap DreamCompute option sounds ideal, just 5 bucks a month, and I can setup a virtual server and run all my crons on there, connecting to the website’s existing mysql db for data, and leaving the shared hosting to actually just deal with the webhosting.

However I have a few questions. There doesn’t seem to be much info out there about how to actually Use DreamCompute.

(a) I gather this is technically an IaaS not a Paas (hope I’ve got that terminology correct!), so the entire installation/management of the OS on my virtual server would be down to me. I’m quite experienced at WebDev and have the basics of server configuration, but I’m no expert on actually fully securing a server, so that concerns me. Are there pre-configured OS installs available that are suitable to run on DC and easy to configure/manage? Although initially I would only be running crons, I would plan in the future to run a webserver to handle IronMQ callbacks. My server would need to run some linux, web server preferably Apache2, PHP, Laravel

(b) Is there some getting started documentation available anywhere without actually signing up?