Make ftp user access one folder?

wordpress

hi
i am a complete newbie to hosting. the dreamhost panel confuses me to begin with. my previous experience has only been to use ftp on other accounts as a user.
i am struggling with a few things but this one really has me stumped.
i want to make a folder e.g. www.mysite.com/folder2 (which i’ve done)
then make a ftp user (which i’ve done) and have him upload files to that folder.
how do i get that user to access that folder without accessing anything else?
i have read these forums and i tried reading the wiki (which is really slim on detailed info for complete newbies i must say) and i’m just getting more and more confused.

currently i can get the ftp user to upload to a user ftp account but its just floating in nothing and i can’t seem to see that account on my domain etc to transfer the info across or anything…i have no idea what i’m doing so please newbie speak to me

my only other choice at the moment is get the user to upload files, then i have to download them to my pc and then upload them again to that folder, which for a lot of data there must be easier way.

i’d really appreciate some detailed advice, thanks

It can be a lilttle bit confusing, but the information is in the wiki; it’s just scatterred over a few places and can be hard to pull together in one place.

I think it will help you understand the issues better if you start with the idea that (absent some major and highly technical workarounds - not recommended for most “new users”), every directory, and file on the DH Debian Linux system has one and only one owner. The reason you are running into troubles is that your user does not own the directoy/files of the “ftp” user.

You have already figured out how to do that, as you indicated - the problem (which I think you discovered, is that now “you” can’t "conveniently’ get at those files without logging on as “his FTP user”.