Mailing list

software development

I have a Flash Web site and am trying to switch over to the Dreamhost mailing list for sending out newsletters. I see the HTML code for setting this up, but do not know how to get it to work in my Flash site. (I obviously did not build the site and know very little about Flash…I’m learning as I go in order to do updates.) It looks like the site currenly links to a PHP file in order for sign ups to our newsletter. Can anyone help?

By this time, since no one has replied, I’m assuming that they must not know much in this area. Since you claim to not know that much about Macromedia Flash, I’d suggest abandoning it. If you have a website receiving a constant flow of visitors, I’d say that you may want to tell them about the update and get started working on a new site design not in Flash.

I’ve never used Flash before, and I don’t really think that building media websites entirely in Flash or Java applets is a good idea – although official websites based on anime or video games do it a lot.

These are my opinions. I don’t know if they can help. I just figured I should give my opinions because no one else has been able to help.

Good luck.

Jordan M

I’ve had some “limited” experience in “moving” and modifying a “pre-built” Flash site, and it wasn’t pretty, for me, because I know Flash only in passing. I’m not sure this will be of much help, but I will share with you my experience with that project, and maybe it will help you decide how to proceed.

You can’t really just “hack away at it” the way you might when “deconstructing” a web page and have all the raw HTML out there in front of you to play with.