Log files

Hello, I am new to dreamhost. I want to store my access log files permanently in the server. Where do I set this? I can see a screen which allows me to define the number of days it can be saved, but I want to set it such a way that it will not be deleted.

I suggest you write a script to be executed by cron to copy your logs to somewhere within your account.

I don’t believe you can do this through the panel. As sigguested above, the best way to do this would be a script that copied out the files on a regular basis to a folder so they won’t get delted. Let us know if you need help writing said script - I’d be quite happy to help you out with that.

-Matttail

Matttail, I appreciate it. Please help me out. I am new to linux and also to dreamhost.

Sure thing, First off you’ll need a little background - You’re going to have to connect to your server through SSH and set up your Crontab. I’ll write the actual script to copy out the log files for you, but then you’ll have to upload it and set up the cronjob. So if you have a basic understanding it will help things along.

I should have the script finished up this evenning after classes.

-Matttail

I was wondering why you were interested in keeping the log files. I just wanted to mention that you might consider installing AW stats (instructions in the wiki) as I believe you can set it to store information - and then you’d have a graphical interface to access it through. Just an idea.

-Matttail

Ok, here’s the script. It took me a bit to get this one right, at first I thought I’d just use the date command and pull out the file. Then when I thought it through I realized that each day I’d have to copy out the previous days logs - as logs aren’t generated till then. The date command is an under documented utility, but with some help I figured out how to subtract one day from the current.