Joomla installation problem

apps

I am new to DH and I am trying to install a joomla webiste on my DH account. I was wondering if anyone knows how to turn register global “off”. Do I need to use php.ini or modify .htaccess to make it work?

Thank you very much.

Jenn

If you go into the Control Panel and edit your domain, you can switch to using PHP5 (which has register_globals disabled by default). Otherwise, you can put the following in your .htaccess file:php_flag register_globals 0--------
Simon Jessey | Keystone Websites
Save $97 on yearly plans with promo code [color=#CC0000]SCJESSEY97[/color]

Thanks for your info. I am not sure if Joomla is in php5 so do you know if it is going to affect the proper operation of Joomla? If I were to change the .htaccess file, do I just change the .htaccess in the Joomla folder or the .htaccess file in my domain’s web directory(home/username/public_html)? I cannot seem to find any .htaccess in the root.

Thank you.

Joomla! works fine with PHP5, but support for MySQL 5 is said to be patchy.

It should be in the web root folder, as far as I know. If you don’t have an .htaccess file in your web root (domain folder), simply create one.

Simon Jessey | Keystone Websites
Save $97 on yearly plans with promo code [color=#CC0000]SCJESSEY97[/color]

Change the one the “joomla” folder (for the scenario you described).

.htaccess effects all directories below its location in the directory tree. If the Joomla installation is at your “public_html” level, that is where it the appropriate .htaccess should go, but if it is in its own directory (home/username/.dataglob/pulbic_html/joomlasite) then the .htaccess should go in the “joomlasite” directory.