Is the Control Panel better than cPanel?

I’m new to the idea of control panels, and not having used any of them yet, I’d like to hear what the veteran users think of the Control Panel here - as compared to cPanel for instance.

Is the control panel here as good as it’s supposed to be, or is it kind of just so-so maybe kinda-sorta better-than-nothing if-you’re-really-desperate?

I’d appreciate any advice/comments/etc - thanks!

• Carla

I have not tried cPanel, so I can’t compare with it. But I can give you my view of this Web Panel: It’s excellent!

DreamHost has hand-coded this Web Panel for their specific services, so it should be safe to say that it does a great job of translating all the DreamHost thingies to a user-friendly web interface. I find that it’s meaningfully organized and gives a good overview, but you can actually change fairly detailed settings.

Only thing I would advise you to be careful with it running it in more than one window or tab at the same time. As long as you always only have one instance of the Panel open, then you don’t risk any misunderstandings (like applying changes to the wrong mailbox or domain).

I like it.

TorbenGB
Try out DreamHost with a free WebIDPrices, options

I had used cPanel with my old host for years before switching to Dreamhost. I can say that at first I hated the DH ControlPanel simply because I found it very difficult to figure out how to do simple things that I was used to in cPanel.

However, after a few weeks, I can say I would never want to go back to cPanel again. I find the DH Control Panel very user friendly once you get used to it and much more powerful.

bryan | website

Like many others here, I initially found the DreamHost Control Panel a bit quirky to use. I’ve used many different control panels, including cPanel, and DreamHost’s specially-written panel is certainly different; however, I can honestly tell you that I have never come across anything so well-specified.