Index.html file

Where exactly in my domain files do I put the index file? Ive got the following files there:

scarlettjfan (the name of my site)

Your index file, indeed all your web-visible files, should go in the folder that corresponds to your domain name.

Simon Jessey
Keystone Websites | si-blog

So the third one on my list? Its just when I try and place the index file there it wont let me. I cant find anyway of moving it over (sorry im really new to this).

Yes, you should be able to place the files inside of that 3rd folder. What happend when you try to places files there - why doesn’t it work?

Are you sure you are logged in with the correct user for that domain.
For example with my main account I can ‘see’ my other domains and update files in any domain. But with domains I have added and given their own users to, although when I sftp in using the other user/pswd details I can still ‘see’ my main domain and read files but I cannot update obviously because I now have the wrong file permissions.

So double check you are using the correct user/pwd details for that domain.

What software and method are you using to try to put your index.html file where you want it?

It may be that your upload software is just asking if you wish to overwrite an existing file yes/no and you may have the software default set to ‘skip’ rather than ‘ask’ . So check also your ‘file transfer settings’ of your upload software.

That’s why it would be useful to know exactly your procedure for trying to upload the file.

I know I am definately logged in with the right username and password.

What it is basically:

Ive created a basic html document for my front page and Ive saved it as index.html, saved it and then tried to move it into the right directory in my network, which I cant it wont let me save the file there directly or move it in.

What software are you using to create the index.html page?